top of page

IX Squadron - RAF Honington, Suffolk, UK

IX Squadron Crest - Transparent+.png

RAF Honington was opened in May 1937. It was an expansion period airfield and planned as a major bomber station which was allocated to No. 3 Group. It had the usual layout of an arc of C-Type hangars plus a range of brick built support buildings. The airfield itself was of grass.

Initially the station was home to 77 Squadron and 102 Squadron which had moved, with their respective Wellesley and Heyford aircraft, from Finningley in Yorkshire.

The following year 75 Squadron and 215 Squadron, equipped with Harrow aircraft, took over as the resident units, and by the mid 1939 they had been re-equipped with Vickers Wellingtons. 

Another change of units resulted in IX Squadron being based at RAF Honington and this is the Squadron most associated with war time operations from the base. The Squadron and their Wellingtons were airborne from day one of the war and remained at RAF Honington until August 1942.

IX Squadron Wellington Aircraft and Aircrew that took part in The Battle of Heligoland Bight 18th December 1939

9 Squadron boxes (167).png

We are in contact with family members of the following IX Squadron crew members:

        F/O Allison, F/O Bailey, Cpl Black, P/O Bourne, Sgt Brister, LAC Cox

        LAC Dickie, Sgt Douglas, Sgt English, AC2 Fawcett, F/Sgt Fearnside

        F/Lt I.P. Grant, AC1 Gratton, LAC Horry, LAC Key, Sgt W.S. Kitson, P/O Lines,          Sgt Mason, LAC O'Neill, Sgt Petts, AC1 Polhill, P/O J.A. Pritchard, Sgt Purdy,          Sgt Ramshaw, Sgt P.W. Robertson, AC2 R.W. Smith, Sgt Turnbull,

        Sgt Wheatley.

 We would still like to make contact with family members of the              following IX Squadron crew members:   


         F/O J.E. Atkinson, LAC G.C. Balch, F/O J.T.I. Challes, LAC D.J. Connolly,

           AC1 C.R. Driver, LAC A.G. Goodenough, S/Ldr A.J. Guthrie,

           P/O G.G. Heathcote, Sgt R. Hewitt, LAC R. Jackson, AC1 F.S. Kemp,

           LAC W. Lilley, F/O W.J. Macrae, LAC T.L. Marlin, Sgt  C.T. Murphy,

           LAC J. Peters, Sgt B.J. Pickess, AC1 A. Telfer, Sgt H.W. Tyrrell,

           AC2 C. Walker, Cpl J. Ware, AC1 C.L. Williams.

bottom of page